Norman R. Taylor Award

The Norman R. Taylor Award is IDEA's tribute to its "Person of the Year." The award is the top honor IDEA can confer on an individual, recognizing that person's lifetime achievements and contributions to the district heating and cooling industry.

Norman R. Taylor

The award's namesake, Norman R. Taylor, was IDEA's president from 1977 to 1978, a turbulent time for the energy industry. Employed by Baltimore Gas and Electric for several decades, he retired in 1980 and became IDEA's (then known as the International District Heating Association) executive director. Taylor set up the association's first office in Washington, D.C. and established the group's ties with the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development and the U.S. Department of Energy. He was known for boldly setting goals, preparing for the future and treating individuals with genuine kindness. He passed away in 1986.

In deference to lauding past winners at IDEA's 100th Annual Conference in Washington, D.C., a Norman R. Taylor Award winner was not selected for 2009. The honor resumed for 2010.

Award Winners:

  • 2016 Bob Smith - RMF Engineering, Inc.
  • 2015 Steve Swinson - Thermal Energy Corporation (TECO)
  • 2014 Stan Gent - Seattle Steam
  • 2013 Hemant Mehta - WM Group Engineers, P.C.
  • 2012 Juan Ontiveros - University of Texas at Austin
  • 2011 Tom Guglielmi - NRG Thermal LLC
  • 2010 David Woods Energy Systems Company of Omaha
  • 2009 None awarded — IDEA Centennial recognition of past winners
  • 2008 David Toombs – Citizens Thermal Energy
  • 2007 Anders J. Rydaker – District Energy St. Paul
  • 2006 Robert P. Thornton – International District Energy Association
  • 2005 Joel L. Greene – Jennings, Strouss & Salmon
  • 2004 James G. Young – Seattle Steam Company
  • 2003 Raymond E. DuBose – University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • 2002 Monica L. Westerlund – Westerlund Communications Inc.
  • 2001 C. Mark Spurr – FVB Energy, Inc.
  • 2000 Richard J. Morgan – Consolidated Edison of New York (deceased)
  • 1999 Anthony C. Mirabella – The Energy Network (now with TM Energy LLC)
  • 1998 Richard L. Mayer – NRG Energy Center San Francisco (then known as San Francisco Thermal)
  • 1997 William P. Goodwin – NRG Energy Center Harrisburg (then known as Harrisburg Steam Works Ltd.)
  • 1996 Michael E. McKay – Princeton University
  • 1995 – None awarded
  • 1994 John A. Gray – then with Grace Dearborn Inc.
  • 1993 John F. Kattner – Kattner Associates (then known as Kattner Marketing Management)
  • 1992 Dr. Ishai Oliker – Joseph Technology Corp.
  • 1991 James Barnes – Central Heat Distribution Co., Vancouver (deceased)
  • 1990 Hans O. Nyman – District Energy St. Paul (deceased)
  • 1989 Thomas R. Casten – Recycled Energy Development (then with Trigen Energy Corporation)
  • 1988 Kenneth R. Linwick – NRG Energy Center Minneapolis (then known as Minneapolis Energy Center)(deceased)
  • 1987 Wyndham Clarke – U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
  • 1986 Carl E. Avers – Thermal Ventures



Join the IDEA Mailing List
For Email Marketing you can trust

		Districtenergy on Twitter